A to Z Challenge: Scott Creek

Today’s episode of the A to Z Challenge is brought to you by the letter S.

#AtoZChallenge 2022 Blogging from A to Z Challenge letter

S for Scott Creek Conservation Park in South Australia. Back in 2000, I was in the midst of completing my Honours degree research on the Southern Brown Bandicoot. As there was a group of them living within this park, I spent much of my field research walking around the park and searching for these little critters.

I remember when I first drove up there, having only just received my drivers licence. The windy roads through the interchanging small towns and and bush land really tested my newly formed driving skills. On I persisted, however, as there was work to be done.

The park itself isn’t far from the city of Adelaide so, in that respect, is quite accessible. Being a former silver and copper mine site, there are still some old mine shafts, mining equipment and crumbling old buildings there.

Having arrived early one morning, with the area still covered in an early morning mist, I remember looking at one of the old buildings. It suddenly reminded me of the Blair Witch Project (Ok, I’ve watched too many movies). It probably didn’t help that I then I realised that it was good chance that I had the park to myself so, if anything did happen, no one would know.

The place itself really isn’t anything like a horror movie, though. There is a tiny creek in the middle with, at least, some water flow (depending on the time of the year) and plenty of trees and shrubs. There was also the odd kangaroo and other variety of small creatures that would come to say hello.

Despite the park usually being deserted, there were the occasional bushwalkers who made use of the walking tracks that snaked their way through the park. It was always a welcome change to have someone to talk to, especially when I was there alone all day.

Since then, I’ve been back to the park a couple of times. It’s always been a favourite place to walk around and just forget about the rush that is life.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started